Asia Cup T20 2016 Venue, Teams, Details

With the beginning of the season, the Asian Cricket Council is all set to bring up another adventure for cricket worshipers. It’s just few more days to go; and then, the lights, the crowds, the noises, and the suspense. Let the game begin!


Yes, the Asia Cup T20 2016 cricket tournament is right at the door step, and I could not wait to share the necessary details about the event with you guys. You might notice when I mentioned Asia Cup T20, there is a little changes in the game this season.

Asia Cup T20 2016

Well, the Asia Cup will be played in T20 format this year as decided by ICC and Asian Cricket Council together. Every Event of Asia Cup will be played based on the format of next World Cup event.

  asia cup t20 2016

Putting more spices, it is confirmed that the ICC T20 World Cup 2016 will be held in India, just few days after the up coming series Asia Cup 2016. The year 2016, certainly a bless for we Indians especially.

Let’s check out the match schedule, team list, and the venue in details of the Asia Cup T20 2016.

Event Venue

As far the report says, the event of Asia Cup T20 2016 will be held at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, located in Mirpur, Dhaka, Bangladesh. The stadium holds the seat capacity of approximately 25,000 people in total. This is the fifth edition of the event to be hosted by Bangladesh.


Asia Cup Team Squads

National cricket teams from five countries are expected to be competing in the tournament. These are, Bangladesh (the hosting country), India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan and the fifth one yet to be determined as qualified. Below here is the table containing team members of each team.



Sri Lanka


·  MS Dhoni (c, wk)

·  Ravichandran            Ashwin

·  Jasprit Bumrah

·  Shikhar Dhawan

·  Rabindra Jadeja

·  Virat Kohli

·  Bhuvneshwar            Kumar

·  Pawan Negi

·  Ashish Nehra

·  Hardik Pandya

·  Ajinkya Rahane

·  Suresh Raina

·  Rohit Sharma

·  Harbhajan Singh

·  Yuvraj Singh

·  Mashrafe Mortaza          (c)

·  Shakib Al Hasan

·  Imrul Kayes

·  Mohammad                Mithun

·  Mahmudullah

·  Mushfiqur Rahim    (wk)

·  Soumya Sarkar

·  Sabbir Rahman

·  Nasir Hossain

·  Mustafizur                  Rahman

·  Al-Amin Hossain

·  Taskin Ahmed

·  Arafat Sunny

·  Abu Hider

·  Nurul Hasan


·  Lasith Malinga (c)

·  Dushmantha               Chameera

·  Dinesh Chandimal

·  Tillakaratne                  Dilshan

·  Niroshan                        Dickwella

·  Rangana Herath

·  Shehan Jayasuriya

·  Chamara                        Kapugedera

·  Nuwan Kulasekara

·  Angelo Mathews

·  Thisara Perera

·  Sachithra                         Senanayake

·  Dasun Shanaka

·  Milinda                             Siriwardana

·  Jeffrey Vandersay

·  Shahid Afridi (c)

·  Iftikhar Ahmed

·  Sarfraz Ahmed        (wk)

·  Umar Akmal

·  Anwar Ali

·  Mohammad              Amir

·  Babar Azam

·  Mohammad               Hafeez

·  Mohammad              Irfan

·  Shoaib Malik

·  Khurram                  Manzoor

·  Mohammad              Nawaz

·  Rumman Raees

·  Wahab Riaz

·  Imad Washim

The Match Schedule and Group Stage

As have mentioned above, one team yet to be qualified for the tournament Asia Cup T20 2016. The winning team from Asia Cup Qualifier series will be determined as qualified. The qualifier series is running presently in Bangladesh itself. Teams competing in the Qualifying series are Oman, United Arab Emirates, Afghanistan, and Hong Kong.


All matches of the tournament will be taken place at the same ground with Floodlight, and below here is the match schedule of Asia Cup T20 2016



India vs. Bangladesh

Sri Lanka vs. Qualified team

Bangladesh vs. Qualified team

India vs. Pakistan

Bangladesh vs. Sri Lanka

Pakistan vs. Qualified team

India vs. Sri Lanka

Pakistan vs. Bangladesh

India vs. Qualified team

Pakistan vs. Sri Lanka

The Final Match


February 24th, 2016


February 25th, 2016


February 26th, 2016


February 27th, 2016


February 28th, 2016


February 29th, 2016


March 1st, 2016


March 2nd, 2016


March 3rd, 2016


March 4th, 2016


March 5th, 2016

19:00 IST (13:30 Uk time)

19:00 IST

19:00 IST

19:00 IST

19:00 IST

19:00 IST

19:00 IST

19:00 IST

19:00 IST

19:00 IST

19:00 IST

This is it guys. Now, you have all information about the Asia Cup T20 2016, and you must be waiting for the event to be live telecast on your TV. Or, you can pack up your bags and head over to the hosting country for even more excitement. Have fun. J

read more: Top 10 Indian Cricketers Who Became Successful Businessmen: Updated News

One thought on “Asia Cup T20 2016 Venue, Teams, Details

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *